Mr. Sketch

28 Apr

mrsketch

This afternoon as I was cleaning my apartment, I was suddenly overwhelmed by a scent memory: Blueberry Scented Marker. I don’t know where it came from, but I knew exactly what it was. I searched for the markers, and I was doubly pleased to find that they are called “Mr. Sketch”, a product that entices children to sniff markers is actually called “Mr. Sketch”. Hilarious.

This doesn’t fit into the regular subject matter of this blog, but I thought I would share this memory. As I understand, Mr. Sketch is still available, so maybe it’s just that I haven’t encountered the smelly markers since grammar school. I distinctly recall the scent of Black Licorice marker, especially.

colors

6 Responses to “Mr. Sketch”

  1. Arielle April 29, 2009 at 12:32 am #

    we have one hundred of those in my classroom… the kids love it but i think it is a boring cheap material for coloring that for some reason have to use

    • lechicbatik April 29, 2009 at 9:53 am #

      they say it’s one way seeing-impaired students can participate in visual activity – so that’s a positive. i haven’t seen these markers in 100 years, crazy how strong scent-memory is.

  2. racruzzo April 29, 2009 at 3:04 am #

    I remember my nose turning colors because of Mr. Sketch. But yeah, as an educator, they’re kind of annoying. We buy the non-scented kind. Am I depriving the children of an essential experience?

    • lechicbatik April 29, 2009 at 9:54 am #

      hm. did you use the smelly ones when you were a kid?

  3. racruzzo April 29, 2009 at 11:40 am #

    yup!

  4. karnivore April 29, 2009 at 10:44 pm #

    the blueberry was my favorite.

Leave a Reply

