On the Marc

16 Sep

marc-by-marc13

I am not one for posting, or even following, every show during New York Fashion Week; that said, there are some ideas worth sharing. I’ve seen a few collections (not in person, I am only human) and the Marc by Marc Jacobs Spring 2010 RTW is one of the more interesting lineups I’ve seen.

WWD describes it by saying “this time the label’s retro glance scored a thematic boost in Africana, seen through a funky Basquiat lens.” I’m not sure I would use the word “funky” to describe the varied talent of Jean-Michele Basquiat, but I would say that, as an artist, Basquiat’s techique was deceptively simple, and in a way, that seems a fitting description of this collection as well.

That said, if Marc Jacobs, as a white designer, has created a collection with ‘africana’ inspiration and nods to Basquiat, it would have been nice to see more models of color on the runway. But at the end of the day it has everything I need to try it on in the morning: some retro, some africana, some pattern-mixing, some color, and maybe even a nod to one of the greatest nyc painters this generation has seen.

My top 5 looks for women:

Look #3

Look #7

Look #24

look 45

look 51

My top 3 looks for Men:

men look 2

men look 23

men look 48

View the entire collection, here.

One Response to “On the Marc”

  1. karnivore September 18, 2009 at 12:29 pm #

    I like…a lot.

Leave a Reply

