Windows

11 Jan

Window of Architect, Daniel Libeskind

When I was home for the holidays my grandfather lent me his VHS recording of Alfred Hitchcock’s Rear Window. It had been recorded from TV and part of a series of remastered classics hosted by Jodi Foster in the 90’s. It has become my favorite Hitchcock film – like most people, I’m captivated by the perspective: a story through a pane of glass.

From an article The New York Times ran in November, Window Watchers in a City of Stangers, I learned of Matteo Pericoli’s sketches. Pericoli’s latest book, The City Out My Window: 63 Views on New York, chronicles sketches of private views belonging to and described by New Yorkers. I think there’s something sort of sad and fascinating about our relationship with what’s going on on either side of these panes. The Times also ran a slideshow of Pericoli’s sketches, from which, I’ve included my favorites:

Junot Diaz: "Up here windows are not windows, they're more like peepholes. 'Rear Window' without any of the architectural or human splendor."

David Byrne: "I think of my view as pretty typical for a New Yorker. We look out our windows at other windows. That, in a way, mirrors our lives here -- we are constantly looking at each other, millions of us, on the streets and elsewhere."

Nicole Krauss: "My son's bedroom looks out over the Brooklyn Society for Ethical Culture. All summer, the Ethicists rent out the garden for weddings: brass bands, drunken toasts, feedback, 'Can You Feel the Love Tonight,' 'That's Amore,' 'Unchained Melody' filter through his sleep. A child's education in romantic cliché."

Mikhail Baryshnikov: "It's one of New York's most beautiful buildings, but it looks better at night ... like a woman."

Pericoli on Stephen Colbert's window: "He was very of proud of the meaninglessness of his view. I think he thought that my project was going to be about handsome window views. This made me happy—it was so him. He has irony in his veins."

2 Responses to “Windows”

  1. Marvin Smalls January 11, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    I like this. Reminds me of my favorite public/urban subject: public transportation. Voyeurism rocks.

  2. Mary Lynne January 11, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Very awesome…

Leave a Reply

